Convert your VHS to DVD

                                                     VHS:DVD2 

Faced with the fear of having to possibly move again in NYC, I started to retreat back to my minimalistic mode. I began to look around in all my organizing bins, storage spaces and closets hoping to downsize, sell on consignment, donate or give to a friend/family member in need. I realized that soon the hellish tasks of boxing, wrapping, stuffing, taping and compartmentalizing will become inevitable.

In doing this, I’d been thinking for a few years now, whatever will I do with my dozen plus VHS tapes? Some with darling baby videos of my nephew from over 15 years ago, a family trip to Italy, rare ballet footage of myself dancing, etc. I didn’t even have a working VHS/DVD player anymore as I’d inherited an ancient one from an old roommate and decided to donate it on my last move to Astoria.

So I decided to contact my friend Marcus Galante who besides being a whiz at converting VHS tapes to DVD, is an avid archiver of lost, rare and fabulous ballets as well as a vast collector of classical music. He’s genius at photo shopping and website design, too. So why not enlist the help of a friend and pay them to do a great job? I always believe in helping your friends and family first. So I reached out to Marcus and he converted everything that was important to me.

We were able to recycle all the VHS tapes in a designated bin in his Manhattan apartment building and I was able to leave with a dozen or so compact, easily stored DVDs that I will enjoy for years to come. No more bulky, obsolete plastic video tapes that take up way too much space and can’t be viewed for pleasure. Something this simple is worth doing for everyone. I know that anyone reading this blog was alive during the VHS age and could use an upgrade, a downsize and more room in their living quarters! If you are interested in doing this in the NYC area please contact my friend Marcus for a great deal! And remember, being thrifty is pretty nifty 🙂

 markus 

nephties1@gmail.com

Leave a comment